O.C. Mom in Manila

It's a Dirty Job but Someone's Got to Do the Disinfecting

The Grammar and Spelling Police See Red

with 10 comments

DH (so many people have asked me what DH means.  So for those who don’t go to any family-related forums, DH means Dear Husband and not Domestic Helper :)) and I are going to Japan in February for the first time.  Because we hold green, (or brown or whatever color it is now) passports, we need to apply for a Japanese visa.  So, I went to SM Mega Mall (the mall which literally has everything) to go to one of the travel agencies who provides this service.

While waiting in line, I decided to read the giant tarpaulin banner which had the guidelines on visa processing.  It took me a whole 15 minutes to read the whole thing because I kept making corrections with the red pen in my head.  I even took a photo of it just so I can study it at home … or post in my blog. I left without asking about the visa because my head hurt (maybe from all the unnecessary capitalization).

Giant Banner of Japanese Visa Requirements

Maybe I can offer to correct the banner and print it in exchange for a visa.  Or maybe I should just choose another travel agency.

Hi.  My name is OCMominManila and I am part of the grammar and spelling (and punctuation and layout) police. 

(Karma is also my middle name.)

©OCMominManila

Written by Kris de Guzman

November 29, 2010 at 7:01 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a good thing it doesn’t have the P-F syndrome. Otherwise I think you would have just secretly taken it down and replaced it.

    mymommyology

    November 30, 2010 at 12:45 am

    • I think P-F syndrome is more verbal than written, isn’t it? Hahaha

      OCMominManila

      November 30, 2010 at 1:03 pm

      • siyempre in my head while i was reading it na-iimagine ko si P-F syndrome! Why why why.

        mymommyology

        November 30, 2010 at 2:42 pm

  2. Grammar police! I love you very max! Hahaha!

    P.S. A friend used Rajah Tours to get their visas for Japan and said they were inexpensive and efficient. Can’t vouch for the grammar but at least they’ll get you there.

    Tanya

    November 30, 2010 at 10:38 am

    • I didn’t know Rajah was accredited. I’ll do that. Thanks! The owner is a friend =) I’m pretty sure her grammar is good.

      OCMominManila

      November 30, 2010 at 1:07 pm

  3. Speaking of Japan and grammar…

    pls buy me pencil case from Japan 🙂

    eyecandy

    November 30, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    • Why sure! What kind of pencil case do you want? My friend brought home highlighters that have erasers on the cap — so you can erase the highlight but not the words!! Isn’t that the best? I cannot wait for Japan — I feel I will get frozen though.

      OCMominManila

      November 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    • Believe in the best omnibus!! That will be my battlecry.

      OCMominManila

      November 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      • Thanks! I want the kind with many compartments, like the ones we had when we were kids! Aw. Memories.

        Enjoy Japan!

        eyecandy

        November 30, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  4. […] mattress.  While waiting, I was surprised to find 2 giant tarp signs (what is it with me and these tarp signs?) on career (yes, career… in […]


Leave a comment