O.C. Mom in Manila

It's a Dirty Job but Someone's Got to Do the Disinfecting

The Worst Thing that Can Happen to OCMom

with 13 comments

I knew it; I shouldn’t have done it.  I knew karma would bite me in the butt because of my previous post.  Well yesterday, it DID (almost literally)!!

I was getting my hair colored and cut (by OC hairstylist Cherry Reyes — more on a future non-gross post) in Essensuals Toni & Guy in  Mega Mall.  After 2.5 hours, I needed to pee so I went out garbed in my black salon robe (whatever you call it) and went to the ladies’ room near Amici.

(Ok, think Sherlock execution for this part) Three things that most likely led to the horrifying climax of this story come back to me now as a haunting memory:

1. I did not want to remove my robe (even if I would look like a dementor going through Mega Mall) because I was wearing a white top and I didn’t want to risk getting any remnants of the hair color on it even if my hair was rinsed already.

2. I had to bring my phone with me because I was afraid someone would swipe it.  Of course, I left my MacBookPro and bag just lying there by the mirror.  There was security anyway.  I JUST HAD TO bring my 3-year-old Gen 1 iPhone.

3. I was wearing skinny jeans which had really tight front pockets so I put my cell in my back pocket.

Do you see where this is going?

So I enter the cube, struggle with my robe and as I pull down my skinny jeans (sorry TMI), I hear a plop and see my iPhone taking a dive.  I honestly thought for 5 seconds (it seemed like an eternity), held my breath, dunked my hand in there and pulled it out.  (All this going in slow mo in my head with the Psycho soundtrack in full volume.) I got my pants back on with my left hand and got out of there to save my hand and my phone.  I shook out all the water from my phone then I spent the next 5 minutes scrubbing my hands with soap. Then the next 5 minutes drying my dying iPhone in the hand dryer.  Back in the salon, I think I used up 50 mL of alcohol on my hands and the phone.  ARGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Despite the horror, I am thankful for two things:

1. That I was in The Atrium section where you have 1 person using the washroom every 20 minutes – so it’s 1/1 millionth of the usage of the regular Mega Mall bathrooms.

2. The toilet was actually clean.  (Oh dear God, please give this one to me.  Please please please)

Purell Ad by JWT Australia: How I wish you could get an actual skin-like glove after today! (without the hair of course! ok, here I go again...)

My right hand feels alien to my body now (just like Evil Dead).  It seems like there is this super disinfected glow around it (because I kept scrubbing it when we got home) but my brain still knows the truth.  I still can’t use my right hand to touch my face or DD.  I still cringe when I remember it.  I won’t blame you if you stop reading because you’re super grossed out.  I just had to let it out.  I’m sorry!!!

Today, I’m buying an iPhone 4. And I promise not to talk about bad grammar again!!

©OCMominManila

Photo Credit: ibelieveinadv.com

Written by Kris de Guzman

December 1, 2010 at 8:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh god!!!!!!! I freaked out, truly and tearfully so. aaaaaaaaaaa!!!! your HAND!

    mymommyology

    December 1, 2010 at 8:38 am

    • i died. i had a similar experience but worse. tell you about it when i’ve recovered from it.

      polly

      December 1, 2010 at 8:45 am

  2. BWHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Jake de Guzman

    December 1, 2010 at 8:59 am

  3. I cannot bear these stories, I can’t I can’t! Pol – WORSE?! Horror.

    mymommyology

    December 1, 2010 at 9:09 am

  4. Hey I got my hair done by Cherry also. Just saying. 🙂

    Elai

    December 1, 2010 at 9:17 am

  5. […] have to recover from that horrifying episode so I must sign off until Monday to do some recovering with the family.  We’re staying in a […]

  6. Nooooo! But wait, did it still work after you fished it out of the toilet? Eek!! But the Dementor comment, winner 🙂

    Pierra

    December 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

    • It still works Pierra!! Isn’t it amazing??? But I’m getting my iPhone 4 on Monday. I guess Yaya will get an iPhone. Haha.

      OCMominManila

      December 4, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  7. […] never-ending iPhone-in-the-toilet saga unfolds.  Yesterday, my husband sent me a link to an amazing product that is probably the cure to […]

  8. […] The busiest day of the year was December 1st with 109 views. The most popular post that day was The Worst Thing that Can Happen to OCMom. […]


Leave a comment